• Quizzes: 16
  • Students: 1
  • Duration: 52 hours

Training Dates: September 10-13 and November 5-8, 2020

This level of certification is for those individuals who hold active licenses in their state in one of the following disciplines:

  • Psychiatry
  • Psychology
  • Clinical Social Work
  • Marriage and Family Therapy
  • Mental Health Counseling

Upon completion of the ITCA program, therapists will have attained the following learning objectives as specified by The World Professional Association for Transgender Health, Standards of Care (7th edition):

The Ten Tasks of the Mental Health Professional. Mental health professionals (MHPs) who work with individuals with gender identity disorders may be regularly called upon to carry out many of these responsibilities:

  • To accurately diagnose the individual’s gender disorder;
  • To accurately diagnose any co-morbid psychiatric conditions and see to their appropriate treatment;
  • To counsel the individual about the range of treatment options and their implications;
  • To engage in psychotherapy;
  • To ascertain eligibility and readiness for hormone and surgical therapy;
  • To make formal recommendations to medical and surgical colleagues;
  • To document their patient’s relevant history in a letter of recommendation;
  • To be a colleague on a team of professionals with an interest in the gender identity disorders;
  • To educate family members, employers, and institutions about gender identity disorders;
  • To be available for follow-up of previously seen gender patients.
Payment plans are available during the checkout process.